Homemade baby wipes – trying to be Eco- friendly

If you haven’t seen it already there is a brilliant video that has gone viral, showing how a brilliant mumma makes her own baby wipes. And you can watch it here

Like many these days, I try my best to only buy toiletries with natural ingredients both for myself and for baby girl OC. However, also like many, I am driven by cost sometimes and I found a very cheap brand of wipes that did the job and didn’t give bubby nappy rash. 

But to be honest, when I was pregnant I had great ideas about how I was going to be as ecologically friendly as possible when it came to nappies. I bought a sample pack of MCN (modern cloth nappies) that I love from Hippybottomus and I was decided that I would do my best to use them when at home. And I have to certain extent but I by no means exclusively use them. I don’t really have a decent excuse for that other than my bub hates the heat and we had a ridiculously hot summer and we don’t have air con – the cloth nappies are thick and fleecy and she just seems too hot in them. And then we got out the habit of wearing them. 

I also tried Eco nappies from HelloCharlie.com.au as my friend uses nappies from there, but then money got very, very tight a few months back and I just couldn’t afford to buy nappies at 2 or 3 times the cost of the ones I could get at the supermarket.

A couple of weeks back Baby Girl had diarrhoea and we were away and used different wipes to usual too. The result was a bad nappy rash that was soooo sore for her. We resorted to an old method of bum wiping – large cotton wool balls and water – which is what we used on her from birth until she was probably about 3 months old. We even supplied her day care with cotton wool balls so that they wouldn’t use the wipes on her for a few days. The chemicals in them just exacerbate the rash. 

So, when I saw the video it was perfectly timed. But I thought to myself that I could probably use cheap baby flannels/facecloths instead of wasting more paper. Kmart sell 12 packs of these flannels in the baby section which we already use for…well, face cloths!! Ha! So I bought an extra pack or two and made up the recipe in a 1 litre Pyrex jug as follows:

  • 2 table spoons of coconut oil 
  • 2 squirts of Eco store shower gel (my own shower gel!)
  • Top up with freshly boiled water And whisk til mixed in. 
  • Pour the mixture over the flannels which I folded over once lengthways in a medium size rectangular tub (with clip on lid). 
  • Leave to soak up
  • If there is excess liquid then drain

Easy! 

I found that using these as wipes is great. Coconut oil is a great cleaning agent anyway (I use it to remove my make up) and it leaves her bum so soft and clean and usually even with a poo I only use one flannel, two at most. 

A couple of other tips:

  • I have a nappy bucket where I then chuck the pooey cloths and then pop them in a hot wash every couple of days. 
  • I wouldn’t recommend washing with MCNs because the oil will probably ruin the absorbency of the nappies. 
  • I also found I need a Terry towel on the side (we keep an abundance of them stacked under her changing table) to pat down the bum a little after wiping as it can sometimes be a little damp. 

It doesn’t take long at all to make these and I feel so much better knowing I’m not using nasty chemicals on Baby Girl OC and I can feel slightly less guilty about the environment too. 

Here is a quick video I did on snap chat. You’ll see I have sorbolene lotion there too but I decided not to add any and I don’t think I needed it. 

Have you made your own wipes? What works for you? 

Leave a Reply

